215.741.4410 Two Convenient Locations in: Langhorne, PA

Oxford Valley Pain & Spine Center's Blog

The Parts of the Spine-A Short Summary

The spine has three main parts:

  • The cervical spine. This is composed of 7 cervical vertebrae.
  • The thoracic spine. This is composed of 12 thoracic vertebrae.
  • The lumbar spine. This is composed of 5 lumbar vertebrae.Another small part is called the sacrum which is part of the pelvis

The vertebrae are bones.Each vertebrae, in turn, is made of the following parts:

  • The body. This part bears most of the weight. It includes the centrum and a posterior arch (also called a neural arch).
  • The  fibrous discs. These separate the vertebrae from other vertebrae. They are also called intervertebral discs.
  • Two pedicles.
  • Two laminae. These attach the ligaments of the spine.
  • Seven processes. There are two types: The spinous processes. This is the bone humans feel when they run their hands down their back.  The paired transverse processes. These run 90 degrees from the spinous  process. They attach the back muscles
  • Four facet joints – in two pairs. These help give the spine stability.

Disclaimer. This blog does not constitute medical advice.

Please contact us. We see patients in Langhorne, Upper Darby, Norristown, and Philadelphia. You can make an appointment by calling  215.741.7031.
We see patients who live in Bucks County, Montgomery County, Mercer County, and Philadelphia – including Doylestown, Levittown, and Newtown.

This entry was posted in Anatomy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Anti-Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree